Tchaikovsky – Nutcracker Suite

Composer: Tchaikovsky (1840-1893) Op. 71a
Duration: 7-8 minutes
Price: £25
Grade: 7-8
Instrumentation: Brass Quintet

Trumpet 1 and 2 in Bb
French Horn

Tchaikovsky’s Nutcracker is a timeless classic loved by audiences of all ages. This selection of 4 of the movements from the Suite was written for Kensington Brass and played for numerous recitals, children’s concerts and Christmas events. It begins with the classic overture, with rapid semiquaver lines and staccato articulations. Movement two is the March with classic triplet marcato rhythms and snappy dotted figures. The third movement is the standout of the collection and widely most performed, Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy. The muted trumpets and colour change of the staccato ensemble, as well as popularity of the music itself make this a wonderful repertoire item. The collection finishes with Waltz of the Flowers, a broad melody with very flamboyant moments!

Kensington Brass Perform Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy:

Sample Audio:

Sample Score: