Tchaikovsky – Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy

Composer: P.I. Tchaikovsky (1840-1893) Op. 71a
Duration: 2 minutes
Price: £12
Grade: 5-6
Instrumentation: Brass Trio

Trumpet in Bb
French Horn

Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy is an instantly recognisable movement from the Nutcracker Suite, and this arrangement showcases a different sound and style for the trio. The soft staccato figures and optional use of mutes make this movement stand out. Written for Brass Attack, many young audiences have really enjoyed this piece and have been amazed by the contrast in style especially with the trumpet part!

Sample Audio:

Sample Score: