Moszkowski – 4 Spanish Dances

Composer: M. Moszkowsi (1854-1925)
Duration: a. 14 minutes
Price: £30
Grade: 5-7
Instrumentation: Brass Quintet

Moritz Moskowski was German composer and pianist who had an extremely successful career with great performances, wealth and Academic honours bestowed upon him. He wrote prolifically, composing over 200 small-scale piano pieces of which this collection is of note. Originally written for 4 hands at the piano, these lively and energetic dances contained rhythms, harmonies and melodies that I knew would translate to the joyful sound and articulation of brass.

This arrangement was written for the Charterhouse School Brass Quintet in January 2020, and used for their GCSE and A Level performance recordings. It is aimed at an intermediate level, around grade 6 throughout.

Quarantine Brass perform No. 1+4:

Sample Score: