Linham – The March Suite

Composer: Ryan Linham (1991-)
Duration: 7.5-8 minutes
Price: £30
Grade: 5-7
Instrumentation: Medium Brass Ensemble (7 parts) and Percussion

Part 1-3 Trumpet in Bb
Part 4 Horn in F OR Trombone
Part 5-6 Trombone OR Euphonium
Part 7 Tuba OR Eb Bass
Perc: Cymbals, Side drum, Bass Drum

Written for the 2015 Advanced Ensemble on the Brass Academy, 3 Brass Dances is another fun educational piece for strong young players. Noticing a distinct gap in the market for music of this difficulty, this original composition is aimed exactly at those advanced students who don’t quite have the range or stamina of Grade 8 players.

The first movement is a Triumphant March with fanfaring trumpets, crisp rhythms and a wide range of dynamics. Movement 2 is a sad funeral march, with long melodic lines and soft accompanying chordal figures. The final movement is a March to the Seven Seas, a fun piratey 6/8 jig.

The piece is written as semi-flexible 7 parts (plus percussion) so it should be suitable for most medium sized ensembles. If you have a different line-up, get in touch!

Sample Audio:

Sample Scores: