Janáček Sinfonietta – Sokol Fanfare

Composer: Leoš Janáček (1854-1928)
Duration: 2.5 minutes
Price: £25
Grade: 5-8+
Instrumentation: 9 Bb Trumpets

Inspired by Janáček listening to a brass band, the fanfare from Sinfonietta dedicated to the Czechoslovak Army was intended to express ‘contemporary free man, his spiritual beauty and joy, his strength, courage and determination to fight for victory.’ It is very famous amongst trumpet players of course, the original work containing 9 offstage trumpets plus bass trumpets and tenor tubas.

This arrangement of the Sokol Fanfare was penned for the Band of the Coldstream Guards.

Sample Audio:

Sample Score: