Handel – Messiah Suite – 10 Trumpets

Composer: G.F. Handel (1685 – 1759)
Duration: a. 20-22 minutes
Price: £80
Grade: 5-8+
Instrumentation: 10 Trumpets, doubling flugels and D (+ Optional Bass Trumpet and Timpani)

Handel’s Messiah is a vast oratorio from 1741 that has become one of the most frequently performed choral works in Western Music. To trumpet players we know it best for ‘The Trumpet Shall Sound.’ This arrangement of 6 movements was originally penned for 20 trumpets including bass trumpet and timpani, commissioned by Alan Thomas to combine his work with the trumpet players of The Coldstream Guards Band, Royal Birmingham Conservatoire and Royal College of Music. The final performance in December 2019 was an amazing occasion in the Guard’s Chapel next to St. James’ Park, London. 

That original version has been scaled down to 10 trumpet parts which work standalone, however I have still included the Bass Trumpet and Timpani parts. It is designed for music college students with many tricky Piccolo D parts. The 6 Movements are:

1 Glory to God
2 Pastoral Symphony
3 The Trumpet Shall Sound
4 Hallelujah Chorus
5 I Know that My Redeemer Liveth
6 Finale

Sample Score: