Grieg – Homeward & March of the Trolls

Composer: Edvard Grieg (1843-1907)
Duration: 6-6.5 minutes
Price: £25
Grade: 6-8+
Instrumentation: Brass Dectet

Piccolo Trumpet 1 in Bb and Trumpet in Eb
Trumpet 2 in Eb
Trumpet 3-4 in Bb (Doubling Flugelhorn)
French Horn
3 Trombones
Bass Trombone

Edvard Grieg’s lyric pieces for piano are a collection of masterworks that fully demonstrate the composer’s ability to capture the sound of Scandinavia with wonderfully crafted melodies and rhythms. These two movements, from that collection are some of the best examples of his work, the arrangement showing off the full possibilities of a Brass Ensemble. Homeward is a lilting 2 step, demonstrating the Norwegian ‘Halling’ style with dancing trumpets and lively syncopated trombones. The middle section is a stunning chorale melody. March of the Trolls is almost self-explanatory, an incredibly energetic, flourishing and dark movement, again with an agonisingly beautiful melody in the middle section. These 2 show-pieces from an audience-favourite composer will work well in any varied recital!

Sample Audio:

Sample Score: