G. Fauré – Pie Jesu – Requiem (6 Trumpet Ensemble)

Composer: G. Fauré, Op. 48 (1845-1924)
Duration: a. 3 minutes
Price: £12
Grade: 4-7
Instrumentation: 6 Bb Trumpets

Composed between 1887-90, this choral and orchestral setting of the Catholic Mass for the Dead is Fauré’s best known large work. Made from seven movements, the Dies Irae is omitted and replaced by this Pie Jesu, the best known part of the work. This is an incredibly well known crowd pleasing item.

This arrangement for small trumpet ensemble works exceptionally in any chapel or large space recital venue. The solo soprano part, often performed by a treble, works beautifully well between the top two trumpet parts. The organ and orchestral parts are shared chorally between the other brass, whilst still providing the necessary bars off with creative part leading.

This is a must have recital item, but could also be used extensively in education settings with young players to work on ensemble, phrasing, tuning and sound quality.

You may also be interested in:

Brahms – Adagio Theme from Violin Concerto (5 Trumpet Ensemble)

Fauré – Pie Jesu for Brass Quintet

Multitrack Score Video: