Fauré – Pie Jesu -Requiem (Brass Quintet)

Composer: G. Fauré, Op. 48 (1845-1924)
Duration: a. 3 minutes
Price: £12
Grade: 5-7
Instrumentation: Brass Quintet

Composed between 1887-90, this choral and orchestral setting of the Catholic Mass for the Dead is Fauré’s best known large work. Made from seven movements, the Dies Irae is omitted and replaced by this Pie Jesu, the best known part of the work. This is an incredibly well known crowd pleasing item.

This arrangement for Brass Quintet works exceptionally in any chapel or large space recital venue. The solo soprano part, often performed by a treble, works beautifully well between the two trumpet parts. The organ and orchestral parts are shared effectively between the other brass, whilst still providing the necessary bars off with creative part leading.

This is a must have recital item for any serious quintet, and also works brilliantly at common booking ‘light classical music’ background events.

Kensington Brass Performance:

Sample Score: