Bach – 6 Fughettas

Composer: J.S. Bach (1685-1750) BWV 696-704
Duration: 7 minutes
Price: £25
Grade: 6-8+
Instrumentation: Brass Quintet

Trumpet 1 in Eb
Trumpet 2 in Bb
French Horn

This collection of small fugues is taken from the composer’s late Leipzig years, all of which were written for the Advent period of the church year. These very short and stunning gems contain Bach’s final experiments to the limits of functional harmony in the 1740s, containing some of the most concise, neo-modal and chromatic movement he ever penned. A welcome collection to any concert repertoire, this personal favourite of mine is light, playable and accessible for audiences of all types. They have been used regularly in the Kensington Brass ‘Celebration of Brass’ series of concerts.

Kensington Brass Perform Nos. 4 & 5


Sample Score: